Record Setting Legislative Turnover (December Update)

As we discussed in a previous post three months ago, it looks like California is going to see a near-record number of new legislators in 2013.

In the Senate, 7 State Senators will be leaving due to term limits. Four Senators (Ronald Calderon, Gloria Negrete-McLeod, Michael Rubio, and Juan Vargas), are running for Congress mid-term, which has the potential to create two new vacancies in mid-2013 if they win.

Potential new Senators: 11

In the Assembly, 22 Assemblymembers will be leaving due to term limits. Another five will give up their Assembly seats to run for Congress (Norma Torres, David Valadao, Isadore Hall, Roger Hernandez, and Jeff Miller). Assemblyman Fletcher will give up a third term in the Assembly to run for Mayor of San Diego. Bill Berryhill, Marty Block and Bill Monning will be running for Senate. Paul Fong, Bonnie Lowenthal and V. Manuel Perez, who had been thinking about Senate campaigns, have decided to remain in the Assembly. Alyson Huber will be voluntarily declining to seek a third term. Warren Furutani, eligible for another term in the Assembly, is currently running for Los Angeles City Council (with the run-off scheduled for January 17th) Finally, Mike Morrell and Tim Donnelly are likely to face tough primary challenges, while Jeff Gorell may have difficulty in November.

Potential new Assemblymembers: 33-36 31-34

These numbers (a total of about 44-47 at this point) ignore the number of new Assembly vacancies that might open if any of the State Senators are elected to Congress.

Updated 12/23/2011 at 7:16 pm to include information about Morrell, Donnelly, Gorell, and Furutani.

Updated 12/27/2011 at 3:52 pm to remove Michael Rubio’s congressional run. He announced today that he will not be running.

Updated 12/30/2011 at 9:57 am to remove Isadore Hall’s congressional run. He announced yesterday that he would remain in the Assembly rather than run against two incumbent members of Congress.

Congressman Carlos J. Moorhead died

Carlos J. Moorhead

Carlos J. Moorhead, who served in the State Assembly (1967-1972) and Congress (1973-1997) died last week. Born in California, Moorhead served in the Army in World War II before returning to California  to earn a law degree from the University of Southern California. He later served as President of the Glendale Bar Association and on the House Judiciary Committee while in Congress.

LINK: Los Angeles Times obituary

Those we lost in 2011.

California lost a some notable state officials and candidates in 2011. Among those who died in 2011 were legislators, judges, mentors, and one who was trusted for more than four decades with keeping the candle of democracy lit if the world burned. As we near the end of the year, we wanted to take a moment to recognize their lives and contributions.

Donald D. Doyle – Assemblyman (1953-1958)
Wayne Grisham – Congressman (1979-1983), Assemblyman (1984-1988)

Steve Horn – Congressman (1993-2003)

Robert L. Vickers – Disaster Acting Governor #3 (1969-2011)
Howard J. Thelin – Assemblyman (1956-1966)
Doug McNea – Candidate for Congress and Assembly

Bob Epple – Assemblyman (1988-1994)

Frank S. Petersen – State Senator (1962-1966)

Matt Fong – State Treasurer (1995-1998)
John Stull – Assemblyman (1967-1973), State Senator (1973-1978)

Floyd G. Sampson – Candidate for Congress
Gib Marguth – Assemblyman (1980-1982)
Dick Floyd – Assemblyman (1980-1992, 1996-2000)
Charles Gubser – Assemblyman (1951-1952), Congressman (1953-1975)

Matthew G. Martinez – Assemblyman (1980-1982), Congressman (1982-2001)
Tim Hodson – Director of the Center for California Studies (1993-2011)

Teresa P. Hughes – Assemblywoman (1975-1992), State Senator (1992-2000)
Carlos J. Moorhead – Assemblyman (1967-1972), Congressman (1973-1996)