Legislators as Republican Party Chair?

Jim Brulte

With the election this weekend of former State Senator Jim Brulte as Chair of the California Republican Party, I just wanted to take a quick look at other California legislators who have held leadership positions within the CRP.

They include:

  • State Senator William C. Norton (who served as Chairman in 1876)
  • U.S. Senator George Murphy (who served as Chair, 1953-54)
  • Congressman Alphonzo E. Bell Jr. (Chair 1956-58)
  • Assemblyman George W. Milias (who served as Chairman in 1958-1960)
  • Assemblyman (later Secretary of Defense) Caspar W. Weinberger (Vice Chairman of the California Republican Party, 1960-62)
  • State Senator Dennis Carpenter (who was Chair in 1969-71)
  • Lieutenant Governor Ed Reinecke (who served as Vice Chair, 1981-83 and as Chairman 1981-83)
  • Assemblyman (now Supervisor) Michael D. Antonovich (who served as Chairman in 1985)
  • Congressman Clair W. Burgener (Chair in 1985-1987)
  • Assemblyman Robert W. Naylor (who served as Chair in 1987-89)
    and finally
  • State Senator Jim Brulte (whose service started Sunday)

UPDATED 3/3/13 @ 4:19 PM to add Senator Carpenter to the list. Thank you to Candidate 5850 for that information!
UPDATED 3/4/13 @ 8:50 PM to add correct the dates for Antonovich and Burgener. Thank you to Chris Nguyen for that additional information!

Speak Your Mind

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.