Those we lost in 2013

We lost some legends this year. Bill Munnell was a member of the Cold War-era Assembly Doomsday Committee. Newt Russell was one of the very last legislators who set such a high value on following the Legislature’s rules that he wouldn’t allow them to be broken in the name of expediency. Nick Petris authored the Lanterman–Petris–Short Act, which restructured California’s laws relating to ‘mentally disordered people’.

As these giants left us, we wanted to take a moment to recognize their lives and contributions of our state and nation.

Paul J. Lunardi – Assemblyman (1957-1963), State Senator (1963-1968)
Nolan Frizzelle – Assemblyman (1980-1992)

Nicholas C. Petris – Assemblyman (1959-1966), State Senator (1967-1996)
William A. Munnell – Assemblyman (1951-1961), Superior Court Judge (1961-1981)

Bill Royer – Congressman (1979-1980)

Newton R. Russell – Assemblyman (1965-1974), State Senator (1974-1996)

Patricia Wiggins – Assemblywoman (1998-2004), State Senator (2006-2010)

George N. Zenovich – Assemblyman (1963-1970), State Senator (1970-1979)
Ernest F. Vance – American Independent Party (AIP) candidate

Speak Your Mind

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.