The Disappearance

In an earlier article, we noted that the number of “third party” candidates on California’s General Election ballots had fallen from 77 in 2010 to 3 each in 2012 and 2014. Based on the current results of the June Primary (election results won’t be finalized until July), it appears that no 3rd-party candidates will be on […]

Emmerson Resignation

The anticipated resignation of Senator Emmerson will change some of the recently compiled resignation statistics. These statistics will be accurate after December 1st. The 2013-14 Session has seen the most Assembly resignations since 1966. Emmerson’s resignation brings the total number of Senate resignations to five, making 2013 the Senate’s most resignation-heavy year in the past […]

The Hollingsworth Succession Bill

Monday marks the fifth anniversary of the chaptering of SB 1530 (Hollingsworth), which added the offices of the Superintendent of Public Instruction, the Insurance Commissioner, and the Chair of the Board of Equalization to the Governor’s line of succession. Through the hard work of three Senate Fellows and an Executive Fellow, this bill added three constitutional officers […]