This Election in History (UPDATED 11/13)

Hoping to head to Sacramento?


  • Gavin Newsom will be the first Democratic Governor to succeed another Democratic Governor since 1887, when George Stoneman was followed by Washington Bartlett.

Statewide Offices

  • More women were elected to statewide office in 2018 than at any prior election in California history. With Eleni Kounalakis as Lieutenant Governor, Betty Yee as Controller and Fiona Ma as Treasurer, California will have three women in statewide office. The previous high of two women in statewide office occurred in 1975-1978, 1987-1988, 1991-2002, and 2009-2017.
  • Of California’s 12 constitutional offices (8 statewide offices and the four seats on the State Board of Equalization), incumbents were reelected in only three (Secretary of State, Attorney General and Controller). The nine new constitutional officers are the largest turnover of the Executive branch since 1911. It was the 1910 election which brought the Progressive era to California politics.
  • The last election to result in a LARGER turnover of Executive branch offices was the 1906 election, which brought 10 new constitutional officers to Sacramento*. * Back in 1906/1907, California had 16 constitutional officers instead of the 12 we have today; at the time, there was also a three-member Railroad Commission and the Clerk of the Supreme Court was elected statewide).

Board of Equalization

  • The Board of Equalization will have a full turnover of its four elected Board Members in this election for the first time in more than 130 years.
  • At 41, Malia Cohen would be the youngest woman ever elected to a California constitutional office. (NOTE: Elizabeth Whitney was younger when she served as Acting Treasurer in the 1987-1988, but she wasn’t elected)
  • If elected to the BOE, Mike Schaefer would be the oldest freshman constitutional officer in state history by about a decade, breaking the record set by Lt. Governor John F. Chellis (in 1863) and Surveyor General Martin J. Wright (in 1902). After one year in office, Schaefer would be the oldest constitutional officer ever, passing Secretary of State Frank M. Jordan (who lived to about 81 years and seven months).

The Legislature

  • If Democrats reach 60 Assemblymembers, this will be the largest caucus in that house since there were 71 Assembly Republicans in 1937. The last time Democrats had 61 Democrats in 1883.
  • The Senate will start the session with 28 Democrats and 12 Republicans. The last time the Senate had that many Democrats was in 1962.
  • If Cottie Petrie-Norris wins in AD74, it will be the first time that most of that area has been represented by a Democrat since Dennis Mangers held AD-73 in 1974-1980. The last Democrat from the southern part of that district was Ronald Cordova in 1976-78.
  • Anna Caballero will be the first Democratic legislator elected from Madera County since 2000.
  • Melissa Hurtado will be the first Democratic legislator elected from Tulare County since 2010.
  • Melissa Hurtado will be the youngest female State Senator in California history and the youngest State Senator since 1981.
  • At an estimated thirteen new members, the Class of 2019 will be the smallest incoming class since 1991 (when thirteen new members were elected in the General Election)
    • With 8 new Senators, the Class of 2019 will have the fewest new State Senators since 2003.
    • With 8 new Assemblymembers, the Class of 2019 will have the fewest new State Assemblymembers since 1989.
    • Three of the new Senators are not new legislators; Caballero, Grove, and Jones have served in the legislature previously.
  • Blanca and Susan Rubio will be the first sisters to serve in the California state legislature. Several pairs of brothers have served in the legislature, including the last pair to serve concurrently, Bill and Tom Berryhill in 2009-2012.
  • At 73, Senator Bob Archuleta will be the oldest freshman legislator since the end of World War II. Previously, that record was held by Assemblyman Steven Choi (sworn in at 72) who was the oldest new legislator since Assemblyman Albert I. Stewart (age 74) was inaugurated in January 1945.
  • When the new Senator from SD-32 is inaugurated in December, it will be the first time that three people have held a single seat in the Senate within a calendar year.
  • BIRTHYEAR: At the start of the 2017-18 Session, the legislature had more current members born in the 1960s than any other decade. By the end of the session, legislators born in the 1970s were the largest group. The 2019-20 Session begins with the proportion of 1970s-born legislators having grown slightly, now at 30% of the legislature.
  • For members at the start of the 2019-20 session, the average age of the State Assembly is 50.2 years old and the State Senate is 57.2 years old.
  • BIRTHPLACE: 78 of the 120 legislators were born in California (down from 81 at the end of last session) and 15 were born in other countries (up from 13).
  • DEAN OF THE LEGISLATURE: Senator Jim Nielsen is starting his 18th year in the Senate (22nd year in the legislature) and is currently the 43rd longest-serving Senator in state history and the 63rd longest serving legislator in state history.
  • TERM LIMITS: None of the current Assemblymembers are scheduled to term out until 2024. There are no longer any Prop 140 Term Limits legislators in the Assembly, and Term Limits 2.0 legislators now make up almost half of the Senate (18 out of 40).

UPDATED 11/5 @ 8:04 pm: Three things that I forgot to mention earlier;

  1. It was rockstar Nuriel Moghavem, MD who caught the cool fact about no Democratic Governor succeeding another since 1887.
  2. Between 1879 and June 2018, the California State Constitution has been amended 539 times. Proposition 5 and Proposition 6 (which included amendments to the California State Constitution) both failed meaning that the number of amendments stays the same.
  3. Keep your eyes peeled for a State Assembly candidate who gets 189,531 votes or more. It’s quite likely that we will see the all-time high of 189,530 votes broken tomorrow.
  4. Also watch for a State Senate candidate to receive more than 303,241 votes (the most since 2010) or more than 326,755 votes (the most since Los Angeles was carved up into multiple Senate districts in the mid-1960s).
  5. For the statewide constitutional offices, look for any candidate getting above 5,433,508 votes (the most since 1986) or more than 5,589,633 votes (the most ever)