Six Candidates in the SD-04 Special Election

According to an early candidate list provided by the Secretary of State’s office today, six candidates have qualified for the ballot in the SD-04 Special Election that will be held in 53 days.

The thick field includes;

  • 3 No Party Preference candidates: Ben Emery, Dan Levine and Jann Reed
  • 2 Republicans: Dan Logue and Jim Nielsen
  • 1 Democrat: Mickey Harrington

With six candidates, the chances are slim that any single candidate will receive the 50%+1 needed to avoid a January run-off. The two most crowded Special Election races to be decided in a primary were the CD-05 Special Election in 2005 (which Doris Matsui won with 68.2% in an twelve-way race) and the SD-11 Special Election in 1993 (which Tom Campbell won with 60.2% in an eight-way race). No other races in recent memory come close to those.

LINK: The official candidate list.

Speak Your Mind

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.