New Years Update: Longest Serving Officials

With the new year starting, it was time to update the list of California’s longest-serving officials. Because term limits limit state legislators to eight years in the Senate and six in the Assembly, the last 20+ year legislator left the Capitol in 1998. Only members of Congress and the Senate moved up on the “Longest Serving” list this year. The updates this year included;

Congressman Pete Stark moving into the #2 spot, with his 39 years in Congress falling behind only Board of Equalization member George Reilly (at 44 years). Stark still has a while before securing the #1 position; his tenure in Congress won’t exceed Reilly’s tenure on the BOE until January 4, 2017.

U.S. Senators Dianne Feinstein and Barbara Boxer also moved closer to twenty years in office (as did Congresswoman Lucille Roybal-Allard). Feinstein will reach the two-decade mark in November 2012, while Boxer and Roybal-Allard will hit twenty years in January 2013.

Speak Your Mind

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.