SD16: Down to the wire.

Two special elections today….

Andy Vidak

In the SD-16 Special Primary, candidate Andy Vidak is in a close race to avoid a run-off on July 23rd. With 45% of precincts reporting, Vidak leads Leticia Perez 52.1%  to 40.9% with three other candidates making up the balance of the total. The significance of this special election rolling on to July is that it assures that there will be at least one vacancy in the Legislature through September (due to at least one legislator resigning to take a seat on the Los Angeles City Council). July 10th will mark the sixth straight year in which there was never a legislative session day at which all 80 Assemblymembers and 40 Senators were present.

In AD-80, Lorena Gonzalez easily beat Steve Castaneda to fill the seat vacated by Ben Hueso when he was elected to the Senate. Gonzales will likely be sworn in as early as Friday’s Assembly floor session. Gonzalez will be the 3,713th person to serve in the California State Assembly.

UPDATED 5/22 @ 7:36 AM: With 100% of precincts reporting, it now appears safe to say that Vidak won the election with nearly 52%.

La Malfa Vacancy: Nielsen wins Special Election

Jim Nielsen

Nine weeks ago, I wrote this article when it appeared that Jim Nielsen had received just over 50% of the vote in the Special Primary Election. He ended falling up a couple hundred votes short, so after correcting that first post, I’m going to rerelease it again tonight:

With Jim Nielsen receiving nearly two thirds of the vote in the runoff, the Special Election to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of State Senator Doug La Malfa has been filled. Nielsen will likely be sworn in as early as Thursday. Because Nielsen will serve less than half of the current term (he will be up for reelection in 2014), he will be eligible for two more full terms, bring his total time in the Senate to just under 22 years.

Senator La Malfa resigned on September 1st, at the end of the Legislative Session.

JoinCalifornia Correction

I have moved the SD-05 race between Bill Berryhill and Cathleen Galgiani back to “undecided” column on JoinCalifornia’s 2012 Election Results page.

Apparently the race has closed significantly in the last few days of counting provisional ballots.