Primary Candidate Tracking Report (1/19/2012)

There are currently 166 candidates for Congress and 320 candidates for the State Legislature in the 2012 Primary Election who are currently being tracked in preparation for updating the JoinCalifornia database.

Congress (53 Seats; 166 Candidates)
85 Democrats
73 Republicans
3 Libertarians
2 Greens
2 Independents/No Party Preference

State Senate (20 Seats; 52 Candidates)
30 Democrats
20 Republicans
1 Libertarians
1 Independents/No Party Preference

State Assembly (80 Seats; 246 Candidates)
143 Democrats
85 Republicans
1 Green
1 Peace and Freedom
16 Independents/No Party Preference

Of the 298 state legislative candidates, 120 have appeared previously on General Election ballots, 87 are current legislators, and 18 are former legislators.

New Years Update: Longest Serving Officials

With the new year starting, it was time to update the list of California’s longest-serving officials. Because term limits limit state legislators to eight years in the Senate and six in the Assembly, the last 20+ year legislator left the Capitol in 1998. Only members of Congress and the Senate moved up on the “Longest Serving” list this year. The updates this year included;

Congressman Pete Stark moving into the #2 spot, with his 39 years in Congress falling behind only Board of Equalization member George Reilly (at 44 years). Stark still has a while before securing the #1 position; his tenure in Congress won’t exceed Reilly’s tenure on the BOE until January 4, 2017.

U.S. Senators Dianne Feinstein and Barbara Boxer also moved closer to twenty years in office (as did Congresswoman Lucille Roybal-Allard). Feinstein will reach the two-decade mark in November 2012, while Boxer and Roybal-Allard will hit twenty years in January 2013.

Record Setting Legislative Turnover (December Update)

As we discussed in a previous post three months ago, it looks like California is going to see a near-record number of new legislators in 2013.

In the Senate, 7 State Senators will be leaving due to term limits. Four Senators (Ronald Calderon, Gloria Negrete-McLeod, Michael Rubio, and Juan Vargas), are running for Congress mid-term, which has the potential to create two new vacancies in mid-2013 if they win.

Potential new Senators: 11

In the Assembly, 22 Assemblymembers will be leaving due to term limits. Another five will give up their Assembly seats to run for Congress (Norma Torres, David Valadao, Isadore Hall, Roger Hernandez, and Jeff Miller). Assemblyman Fletcher will give up a third term in the Assembly to run for Mayor of San Diego. Bill Berryhill, Marty Block and Bill Monning will be running for Senate. Paul Fong, Bonnie Lowenthal and V. Manuel Perez, who had been thinking about Senate campaigns, have decided to remain in the Assembly. Alyson Huber will be voluntarily declining to seek a third term. Warren Furutani, eligible for another term in the Assembly, is currently running for Los Angeles City Council (with the run-off scheduled for January 17th) Finally, Mike Morrell and Tim Donnelly are likely to face tough primary challenges, while Jeff Gorell may have difficulty in November.

Potential new Assemblymembers: 33-36 31-34

These numbers (a total of about 44-47 at this point) ignore the number of new Assembly vacancies that might open if any of the State Senators are elected to Congress.

Updated 12/23/2011 at 7:16 pm to include information about Morrell, Donnelly, Gorell, and Furutani.

Updated 12/27/2011 at 3:52 pm to remove Michael Rubio’s congressional run. He announced today that he will not be running.

Updated 12/30/2011 at 9:57 am to remove Isadore Hall’s congressional run. He announced yesterday that he would remain in the Assembly rather than run against two incumbent members of Congress.