Close Contest Update

Changes in Close 2nd Place Finishes (as of 6/10/16 at 4:55 PM) Expanding Lead CD-53    Veltmeyer trails Ash by 126 143 votes. CD-21    Huer trails Parra by 467 599. AD-68    Choi trails Sidhu by 529 608. CD-32    Hernández trails Fisher by 222 741 votes. AD-26    Mendoza trails Macareno by 583 767. AD-55    Spence trails Chen by 673 803 816. […]

Close 2nd Place Finishes

Under the Top Two Primary, it’s the battle between 2nd and 3rd place that is usually the most closely-watched. Here are the 11 races where 2nd and 3rd place are separated by fewer than 1000 votes. Close 2nd Place Finishes (as of 6/10/16 at 7:22 AM) CD-53    Veltmeyer trails Ash by 126 votes. CD-32    Hernández […]

2016: Tough Year for Minor Parties

2014 was a tough year for California’s minor parties and 2016 is looking even more challenging. Looking at the number of minor party (also called “third party”) candidates who made it onto the General Election ballot, we can see that (excluding statewide offices and the BOE) the numbers have been falling fast. In 2000, there were 124 […]